Are There Monkeys In Punta Cana?

Where the squirrel monkeys live in Punta Cana, which tours visit them, and how to pair a monkey encounter with a zipline day.

Squirrel monkeys perched on a wooden railing in a jungle reserve

Yes, there are monkeys in Punta Cana, though not in the wild along the hotel strip. The monkeys people come to see are squirrel monkeys living at Monkeyland, a reserve in the Anamuya Mountains inland from Bávaro. You reach them on an organized tour, and the most common way to book that visit is combined with a zipline circuit on the same day.

The question comes up constantly in trip planning, and the honest answer has two parts. Monkeys are not native to the beaches and you will not spot one from a sun lounger at an all-inclusive resort. But roughly an hour inland, in the hills that most visitors only see from a safari truck, a resident population of squirrel monkeys lives at Monkeyland, and daily tours run there from Punta Cana, Bávaro and Uvero Alto hotels.

Runners Adventures, the operator behind the Monkeyland visits, lists daily departures from Bávaro, Uvero Alto, Macao and Punta Cana on its own locations page, which is the clearest confirmation that this is a year-round, scheduled operation rather than a seasonal novelty. The monkeys themselves are small, quick and used to people, and the reserve visit is guided throughout.

Squirrel monkeys sitting on a branch above a jungle path

If the monkey visit is the reason you are reading this, the practical shortcut is to book it as a combo. Three listings on this site do exactly that, pairing the Monkeyland entry with ziplines, and in one case with buggies as well.

The rest of this article explains where the monkeys actually are, what the visit involves, what it costs, and how to fold it into a wider excursion day. The site's own Zipline in Punta Cana comparison covers the line circuits themselves in more depth if the flying matters more to you than the fauna.

Where Exactly Do The Monkeys Live?

The monkeys live at Monkeyland, a fenced reserve in the Anamuya Mountains, the same range that hosts the area's best known zipline circuits. The drive from the coast takes roughly an hour depending on your hotel zone, and the visit happens on guided groups only, you cannot simply walk in off the road.

Monkeyland sits inland from Punta Cana in the Anamuya area, the same stretch of forested hills where Runners Adventures operates the zipline course its listings describe as 18 platforms and 12 zip lines. That geography is why the monkey-and-zipline pairing exists at all: the two attractions are close enough that a single truck can cover both in one day without backtracking, which is how the classic eight or nine hour combo format was born.

The monkeys are squirrel monkeys, small primates far smaller than the capuchins or howlers people sometimes picture. Operator pages describe the Monkeyland course as a 12-wire zipline combined with monkey interaction and a Casa del Coco stop, and the same sources consistently call the resident animals squirrel monkeys. The visit is guided: staff lead small groups along a jungle path, and the monkeys approach on their own terms.

Wooden walkway through dense green jungle in the Anamuya hills

A few practical points worth knowing before you book:

  • The visit is one stop inside a longer tour day, not a standalone drop-in.
  • Photography is handled by the operator's own staff on most listings; souvenir photos are usually a paid extra, one reviewer noted $35 for a photo package on a Monkeyland combo.
  • The monkeys are habituated to visitors but they are still animals, sightings are described as expected, never guaranteed, and no listing promises one.

Wondering whether a monkey day is worth the drive?

The Monkeyland, Ziplines and Buggies Bundle above is the most reviewed listing on this site at 4.9 from 13,839 reviews, and the other monkey options are compared in the next section.

Which Tours Actually Include The Monkeys?

Three listed tours include Monkeyland entry: the Monkeyland and Zipline Adventure from $130 per person, the Ziplines Adventures and Monkeyland Entry from $130 per person, and the Adventure Bundle with Monkeyland, Ziplines and Buggies from $209 per person. All three list free cancellation, and all three are full days of eight hours or more.

Here is the comparison in one place, straight from the listings.

Listing Duration Price Rating Lunch Pickup
Monkeyland and Zipline Adventure 8 hours From $130 per person 4.8 from 1,227 reviews Listed (Dominican lunch) Listed
Ziplines Adventures and Monkeyland Entry 8 to 9 hours From $130 per person 4.8 from 505 reviews Not stated Listed
Adventure Bundle: Monkeyland, Ziplines and Buggies 9 hours 30 minutes From $209 per person 4.9 from 13,839 reviews Listed (Dominican lunch) Check the listing

The first two are close cousins. Both are Runners Adventures products, both pair the monkey reserve with the zipline circuit, and both cost from $130 per person. The Monkeyland and Zipline Adventure line explicitly includes a Dominican typical lunch and hotel pickup for selected hotels; the Ziplines Adventures and Monkeyland Entry listing includes hotel pickup, all entrance fees, fruit and soft drinks, and leaves the meal question open, so check the listing before assuming food. The deeper guide on Monkeyland and zipline combinations breaks the two apart in detail.

The Adventure Bundle is the big one: the most reviewed listing anywhere on this site at 4.9 from 13,839 reviews, a 9 hour 30 minute day that stacks the full 12-cable zipline circuit, the Monkeyland entry and a buggy ride, with lunch and water included. The listing names a $5 locker fee as an exclusion, and pickup is not confirmed on the listing, so ask the operator about transport before booking. It costs from $209 per person, which is the premium option for travelers who want the whole day filled.

That safari combo is a different animal entirely: a Hacienda Tuko product rated 4.7 from 85 reviews, from $95 per person, mixing zipline, buggies and horse riding with a drink and snack. It has no Monkeyland entry, but it shows how much the same inland ranch territory can pack into one truck day. The broader zipline combos overview covers the other multi-activity formats.

What Is The Monkeyland Visit Actually Like?

Listings describe a guided jungle walk where squirrel monkeys come down to the group, climb onto shoulders and arms, and take fruit from guides' hands, followed by a Casa del Coconut stop where staff open coconuts and explain local crops. The monkey portion itself runs well under an hour inside a tour day that stretches to eight or nine hours door to door.

The honest framing matters here. This is not a zoo and not a sanctuary tour in the documentary sense; it is a managed encounter where the animals choose to approach. Reviews on the live listings describe the monkeys as curious and comfortable with people, landing on heads and shoulders within minutes of the group arriving. Guides carry fruit, brief visitors on how to stand, and keep the session moving.

The structure of the classic combo day, as the itineraries lay it out, runs roughly like this:

  • Hotel pickup in a safari truck or coach in the morning.
  • The zipline circuit first, harness and helmet on, briefing included, roughly two and a half hours on the course including the jungle walks between platforms.
  • The Monkeyland visit with a guide.
  • A typical Dominican lunch where the listing includes one.
  • Return transfer in the late afternoon.

Reviewers consistently note two things beyond the animals. First, the day is physical: the walks between zipline platforms are hot and sweaty work even in the cooler months, and moderate fitness is listed as a requirement. Second, reviewers single out the time with the monkeys as a favourite part of the day, though one reviewer of the longer bundle warned it is a very long day and not the place for small kids.

A plate of fresh tropical fruit on a wooden table at a jungle reserve

Can You See Monkeys Outside Monkeyland?

Monkeyland is the main place visitors meet monkeys, but it is not the only listing that mentions them: the Scape Park entry listing in Cap Cana says squirrel and capuchin monkeys live around the park, alongside parrots, rhinoceros iguanas and farm animals. No listing sells sightings of truly wild monkeys, and only the Monkeyland tours build the day around a hands-on monkey visit.

This is worth saying plainly because search results mix Punta Cana up with other parts of the Caribbean and Central America, where howler monkeys and spider monkeys live in genuine wild populations. The Dominican Republic does not have that scene on the east coast. What it has is one well-run reserve an hour inland, and a tourism industry built around it.

If monkeys are the goal but you want something other than the standard combo, the realistic variations are:

  • The Adventure Bundle, which adds buggies to the same monkey-and-zipline core.
  • A Monkeyland pairing on a day when you skip the ziplines, though every Monkeyland tour currently sold includes the ziplines, so the combo is effectively the only format sold.
  • Splitting the week: one day on the Monkeyland combo, another on a different inland format such as the zipline and horseback combination for a second taste of the mountains.

Travelers who ask this question are often really asking whether the monkeys are worth the drive from the coast. The answer the review pool supports is yes for families and for anyone who wants the full jungle day; the monkeys are tame, close and photogenic in a way that beaches and boats are not. If your interest in wildlife is mild, a shorter zipline-only morning may serve you better, and the best zipline comparison ranks those options.

How Much Does A Monkey And Zipline Day Cost?

The Monkeyland zipline combos cost from $130 per person for the two 8 to 9 hour pairings, and from $209 per person for the 9 hour 30 minute bundle that adds buggies. Those are the only three tour prices that include Monkeyland entry, and all three list free cancellation.

The step from $130 to $209 buys the buggy segment, a longer day and the largest review pool on the site. Whether that is worth $79 more depends on your group: for teenagers and adventurous adults, almost certainly; for a family with a nervous six year old, the standard combo is plenty of day already.

Cost item Combo at $130 Bundle at $209
Monkeyland entry Included Included
Zipline circuit Included Included, full 12 cables
Buggy ride Not included Included
Lunch Listed on one, check the other Listed (Dominican lunch)
Locker Usually an extra $5 fee listed as exclusion
Photos Paid extra Paid extra

Budget travelers sometimes look for a cheaper monkey option and find none: there is no free or discounted way to reach Monkeyland, and no public transport route that makes sense from the hotel zones. The site's honest take on free and cheap things to do in Punta Cana names the beach and basilica as the genuinely free days, and treats the monkey and zipline combos as the paid highlight worth budgeting for.

Two small money notes from the listings. Gratuities are listed as optional on the Monkeyland combos, with no stated amount, so tipping is a judgment call rather than an expectation. And the photo packages are where the real upsell happens: one verified reviewer paid $35 for photos at the zipline park, so decide in advance whether you want them rather than at the sales desk.

The Tuko combo above, from $100 per person and rated 4.9 from 5,399 reviews, is the featured alternative when monkeys are negotiable but a big inland adventure day is not. It includes lunch and no Monkeyland stop, and pickup is not stated on its listing, so check before booking.

What Should You Check Before Booking A Monkey Tour?

Check three things on the live listing before you pay: whether pickup covers your hotel zone, the minimum age and weight rules for the zipline portion, and what the cancellation window actually is. The Monkeyland and Zipline Adventure listing states a minimum age of 6, a minimum zipline weight of 20 kg, a maximum of 127 kg and a 112 cm waist limit, and the Adventure Bundle states the same age and weight limits without a waist figure, so read the rules on the listing you book.

The age and weight figures come from the Monkeyland combo listings themselves, not from any national rule: the Dominican Republic has no published national zipline standard, and each operator sets its own limits. Other courses state different numbers, the suspension bridge course says ages 5 and up with a 300 lb maximum, and the Bavaro Adventure Park listings say 1.30 m minimum height and 130 kg maximum. Always read the listing you are actually booking.

A short pre-booking checklist:

  • Pickup zone: confirm your hotel area is covered, some listings cover selected hotels only, and the Bayahibe and La Romana zones often carry a supplement.
  • Weather terms: tours generally run rain or shine with rescheduling for extreme weather per the operator's terms, the ziplining in the rain guide explains how that works.
  • What to wear: closed-toe shoes are required for the ziplines, and comfortable clothes for a hot, active day, the what to wear guide has the full list.
  • Photos and lockers: both are typically paid extras, budget a little cash.

Families should also note the age split on the biggest circuit: the 12-cable listing states children between 6 and 12 ride only the first 8 cables. That is a listing-specific rule, printed on that product's page, and it shapes expectations for younger kids on the combo day.

If your dates are flexible, the weather by month guide is the planning tool: December through April is the drier stretch, while the September to November period is wetter, though short afternoon showers can land any month and rarely stop a tour.

Which Monkey And Zipline Tour Should You Pick?

Pick the Monkeyland and Zipline Adventure from $130 per person if you want the straightforward pairing with lunch and pickup. Pick the Adventure Bundle from $209 per person if you want buggies too and the longest day. Pick the Ziplines Adventures and Monkeyland Entry if the departure time or pickup list from its listing fits your hotel better.

For most readers the choice collapses to the first two. The standard combo is the value and simplicity pick: 4.8 from 1,227 reviews, eight hours, lunch listed, pickup listed. The bundle is the everything pick: the most reviewed tour listed here, 4.9 from 13,839 reviews, and a day that leaves nothing unbooked. The deciding factors are energy levels and appetite for driving buggies through mud, not quality, since both score in the same band.

One more consideration for the monkeys specifically. Because the reserve visit is a fixed stop on a fixed circuit, the monkey experience itself will be near identical whichever of the three you choose. The variable is everything around it: the zipline circuit, the buggy segment, the lunch, the length of the transfer day. Choose on those, and let the monkeys be the constant.

Here are the other two monkey tours side by side one last time:

Common Questions About Monkeys In Punta Cana

Are There Monkeys In Punta Cana?

Yes, though not in the wild on the coast. The monkeys are squirrel monkeys living at the Monkeyland reserve in the Anamuya Mountains, reached on organized tours from the hotel zones, most commonly paired with a zipline circuit on the same day.

Can You Hold The Monkeys At Monkeyland?

The listings describe the monkeys climbing onto visitors and taking fruit from guides during a supervised walk. How much contact happens depends on the animals and the guides on the day, and no tour guarantees a specific interaction.

How Much Does A Monkeyland Tour Cost?

The two Monkeyland and zipline combos cost from $130 per person and run 8 to 9 hours. The bundle that adds buggies costs from $209 per person for 9 hours 30 minutes. All three list free cancellation.

Is Monkeyland Good For Young Children?

The listing states a minimum age of 6, and the 12-cable zipline listing says children between 6 and 12 ride only the first 8 cables. Reviews from families describe the monkey stop as a highlight, but read the age and height rules on the specific listing before booking.

Do You Need A Whole Day For The Monkeys?

Yes. Every Monkeyland tour pairs the reserve visit with the zipline circuit in an 8 hour or longer day, so plan it as your main excursion rather than a quick stop.

← All posts